Organising Committee

Dr. Sarah Perkins-Kirkpatrick

AMOS Co-Convenor

Dr. Sarah Perkins-Kirkpatrick is an ARC Future Fellow at the Climate Change Research Centre at UNSW Sydney. Her research focuses on heatwaves – how to measure them, their observed and future changes, their driving physical mechanisms, and identifying the human signal behind recent high-impact events. She developed, an interactive website that tracks recent Australian heatwaves. Sarah also moonlights as a communicator, being busy during summer when she is often asked if climate change is the culprit behind every heatwave.

Dr. Johanna Speirs

AMOS Co-Convenor

Dr. Johanna Speirs is a Senior Climate Scientist with Snowy Hydro Ltd and specialises in understanding weather and climate processes that affect water resources in the Australian Alps. Johanna maintains an affiliation with the University of Queensland’s School of Earth and Environmental Science following her PhD on Antarctic meteorology and climatology. Johanna grew up in Darwin and is looking forward to the AMOS-ICTMO conference being hosted in her old home town.

Dr. Matthew Wheeler

ICTMO Co-Convenor

Dr. Matthew Wheeler is a Principal Research Scientist with the Bureau of Meteorology where he has worked on tropical meteorology, the Australian monsoon, and the Madden-Julian Oscillation. He competed his Ph.D. at the University of Colorado in Boulder and a postdoc in the Advanced Study Program at NCAR. He is currently co-leading projects on northern Australia climate prediction and a cruise of the RV Investigator to Indonesian waters for the Years of Maritime Continent.

Roger Smith

ICTMO Co-Convenor

Roger Smith is an Emeritus Professor at the Ludwig-Maximilians University (LMU) of Munich. A graduate of the University of Manchester in the 1960’s, he spent nearly 20 years in the Mathematics Department at Monash University before moving to a Chair of Meteorology at the LMU. His main research interests have been in the dynamics of the Australian summertime cool change, cold fronts over the Australian subtropics and tropics, the Morning Glory phenomenon of northeastern Australia, heat lows, rotating tropical convection, and tropical cyclones.

Dr Andrew Marshall

Dr Andrew Marshall is a senior research scientist at the Bureau of Meteorology in Hobart, and President of the Australian Meteorological and Oceanographic Society. Andrew’s research specialises in subseasonal to interannual variability of the atmosphere-ocean system and its role in weather and climate prediction, with particular specialisation in drivers of climate variability and extremes.

Serena Schroeter

Serena Schroeter is a Severe Weather Scientist with the Bureau of Meteorology where she works on the development and application of numerical weather prediction systems to better understand atmospheric dynamics and physical processes contributing to severe weather events in Australia, as well as the downstream impacts that occur during these events. Serena’s primary focus is on improving forecasts of the impacts of severe weather events including East Coast Lows and bushfires. She is also a PhD candidate at the Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies at the University of Tasmania, investigating the response of Antarctic sea ice to anthropogenic climate change.

Ben Schroeter

Ben Schroeter is a Support Scientist for ensemble prediction systems at the Bureau of Meteorology where he is currently working as part of a multidisciplinary team to develop the next generation of city-scale Numerical Weather Prediction (NWP) models. Ben is also currently undertaking a PhD at the Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies where he is working on improving NWP for the high southern latitudes. Ben presides over the Tasmanian Data Community, DataTas, bringing essential scientific programming skills to the community through events and workshops.